One of the largest and most prestigious songwriting competitions in the world, ISC offers entrants a chance to win over $100,000 in cash and prizes, including an Overall Grand Prize package of $10,000 (US) in cash and $20,000 in merchandise. ISC is open to both amateur and professional songwriters of every level, and all musicians, artists and songwriters are invited to submit their original songs. The deadline for submission is October 14, 2005.

ISC provides the perfect opportunity for artists, bands and songwriters looking to gain recognition in the music industry and have their songs heard by some of the most influential members of the music industry, including presidents of ten record labels and legendary artists such as Loretta Lynn, Sonny Rollins and Tom Waits. "We've always been impressed with the talented songwriters who participate in the ISC. This is a great A&R source to find new artists." - Monte Lipman (President, Universal Records).

In addition to the cash and prizes, ISC winners also benefit greatly from the industry exposure and media attention of winning a competition as prestigious as ISC. Previous ISC winners have included: Tara Slone (one of the 15 performers on CBS TV's Rock Star: INXS); Carbon Leaf (signed to Vanguard Records); Amanda Palmer of Dresden Dolls (signed to Roadrunner Records); Chris Sernel of Escape From Earth (recently named the winner of the MTV/COKE "Make It Real" Contest); Michael Flynn (signed to J Records); Troy Verges, Blair Daily and Gordie Sampson (their song "Paris" is featured on Faith Hill's latest album) and more.

The complete list of ISC 2005 judges include: Tom Waits; Loretta Lynn; Sonny Rollins; John Scofield; Steve Vai; Macy Gray; Joss Stone; MercyMe; Amy Ray (Indigo Girls); Darryl McDaniels (Run D.M.C.); LeAnn Rimes; Isaac Brock (Modest Mouse); Jeff Stinco (Simple Plan); BeBe Winans; Peter Hook (New Order); Benji Madden (Good Charlotte); Charlie Musselwhite; The Donnas; Monte Lipman (President, Universal Records); Keith Wozencroft (President, Capitol Music UK); Glen Barros (CEO/President, Concord Records); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Cameron Strang (President, New West Records); Dan Storper (President, Putumayo World Music); Michael McDonald (President, ATO Records); Alexandra Patsavas (Owner, The Chop Shop Music Supervision - credits include The OC, Grey's Anatomy, Without A Trace, Carnivale, Rescue Me ); Darrale Jones (VP A&R Urban, Atlantic Records); Chris Parr (VP Music Programming & Talent Relations, CMT); Barbara Sedun (VP Creative, EMI Music Publishing Canada); Tara Griggs-Magee (Executive VP of Gospel/Urban Music, Sony Records); Leib Ostrow (CEO, Music For Little People), Thomas Brooman (Co-Founder/Artistic Director, WOMAD); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Emily Wittmann (Vice-President, Nick Records); Patrick Moxey (President, Ultra Records/You Records/Sequence Records/Escondida Music/Empire Mgmt.) and Danny Epstein (Music Supervisor, Sesame Street/Sesame Workshop).

Entrants can submit their songs into any of the 16 categories: Pop/Top 40; Dance/Electronica; Rock; Jazz; Instrumental; Performance; World Music; R&B/Hip-Hop; Country; AAA/Roots/Americana; Gospel/Christian; Blues; Folk/Singer-Songwriter; Children's Music; Lyrics Only; and Teen (18 yrs. Old or younger).

ISC sponsors include: Epiphone, Berklee College Of Music, Fishman, ADK Microphones, Tascam, Moog Music, L.R. Baggs, FYE, Hear Technologies, Sam Ash Music Stores, Sibelius, Music Registry, Alphabet Arm Design, Sonicbids, Mediaguide, ArtistMonitor, Disc Makers, Planetary Group, Taxi, and

ISC is now accepting entries for the 2005 competition. All entries have to be postmarked on or before October 14. For more information or entry forms, call 615.251.4441 or go to the ISC website at


More Epiphone news items.